I thought I made plans!

Image

 

Broken Plans

 

Broken plans

Like broken trees lay scattered

All around.

Scribbled calendar days,

One appointment after the other

Cancelled, rescheduled, added.

A life of never really knowing

What each day will bring.

Schedules become a thing of the past,

When every day is spent figuring out

What the next hour will hold.

 

It is surprisingly freeing,

To always be on my toes.

To think and be creative when

Things don’t quite work out.

To work in a world where

Schedules rest not in boxes but

Bubbles that allow

Movement through.

 

It is a huge lesson

In letting go,

In realizing that nothing is ever

Set in stone.

That changes can and always happen,

And it will all still be OK.

 

I thought I made plans but the universe had a different idea. Today has been one of those days where everything I scheduled, everything I planned got turned around and changed completely. Now to some degree that is expected, but today was particularly full of unexpected hiccups. I have to say I am happily surprised at how well I handled it, how as they came all the hiccups just rolled right off without a second thought. One deep breath after another kept me calm and steady. Which is not always easy for me. I couldn’t help but think about how much time, schedules and plans are fluid, and ever changing no matter how hard we try to nail them down. That the only thing we can be sure of is that change will happen. How do you handle change?

What are your thoughts?

