I woke up, have you?

Image

 

I Woke Up

 

I woke up

The sun is rising

Clouds decorate the sky

Creating dramatic color changes.

 

I woke up

I have places to go

I have things to do.

My family surrounds me.

 

I woke up

I am filled with love

Birds call out a morning greeting

The air smells fresh and cool.

 

I woke up

To another day

Yet this day

This moment feels different

I’m home but feel as though I’m miles

Away watching the sun rise alone on a mountain top

Filled with such peace and beauty

Completely overcome with a

Pure sense of gratitude

At the wonder of it all.

 

I woke up

And thought what a wonderful day

To be alive.

What an honor, what a gift

To be able to breathe

And witness all that is and will be life

Mine and all the lives around me.

 

I woke up

And I am grateful.

 

I wake up everyday, but so frequently I forget what a miracle-what a gift it is to wake up. On the days that I really wake up; to the beauty, the glory, the wonder of being alive it’s a precious thing. It’s so important to take a moment to remember how lucky we are to be alive, to recognize all the adventures and wonders we have been a part of. This can be difficult sometimes when we are feeling down or depressed, but that is when it is even more important to look for the miracles around you. It’s time for us to wake up to the wonders that surround us, instead of remaining asleep. What have you woken up to?

What are your thoughts?

