Joy from…

Image

 

Joy From…

 

One foot moving in rhythm

After the other,

Step, step.

Quieting the mind,

All attention on breathing

In, out.

Heightened senses

Hear all the sounds

Smell each home as I walk by

Feel my body working, sweating, moving.

Until I’m no longer my body,

It’s moving of its own accord,

I feel the pull of gravity

As I jog down the hills.

I am free,

Joy can be understated

Simple and quiet.

Joy from

Letting go of attachment.

Joy from allowing

Life to be.

Joy from

Hope in love and light.

Joy from walking

On a warm night,

With the wind in my hair.

 

I am always so grateful when there is joy in my life, or rather when I can see and accept joy into my life. I find that so often joy comes from the smallest things. Going for a walk on a warm evening, drinking a cup of tea, laughing with friends, the list goes on and it’s not filled with giant adventures, but rather little steps along the way. Even though giant adventures like my trip to South Africa are wonderful and great it’s not the bigness of the trip that I remember or that brought me joy, it was the little things that added up to make it a joyful trip. Sometimes I am tempted to hold tightly to the things that bring me joy, but I know the best way to enjoy them is with an open hand, allowing them to flow easily in and easily out again. Trusting that joy will come again. What brings you joy?

What are your thoughts?

