Waiting to remember

Image

 

For waiting to Remember

 

Drowning in the meadow

Of broken dreams

Zippered pouches turned inside out

Show their deep desires

Held back by cotton hands.

Waiting for a swallow

To creep them to reality

From imagined waves of

Guilty dust.

The raindrops

Jump the leaves to splash

Upon the ground,

Waking up the dead,

Send sleeping heads to bed.

It’s the words I think I will remember

As I lay awake in bed

That toss around forgotten

For mornings, days on end.

Aimless wandering the rivers

Of my mind

Going over and over again

The feeling, the emotion

Those words had

So close I taste them in my mouth

Sweet with the newness of

A poem, story waiting to be read.

For waiting to remember

I get a sweet emotion

Turning bitter before the end

The words remain forgotten

While new ones take the place.

Do you remember what it feels like

To forget?

 

As a writer, I am always waiting to remember – it’s why I always carry a notebook with me. Words, stories, poems are always floating around my head – new ones crowding out any that have not been written down. But this sense of wanting to remember extends to more than just writing. I am always remembering things – errands, people I need to call, various daily responsibilities, who I really am. That’s a whole lot for a mind to hold. But sometimes it’s the things I forgot that mean the most. This poem is all about remembering, forgetting and letting go. What are you trying to remember?

2 thoughts on “Waiting to remember

  1. Your personal posting, “Waiting to remember | throughmyhearts” ended
    up being very well worth writing a comment down here in the comment section!
    Simply just desired to say u really did a terrific work.
    I appreciate it ,Suzette

    Like

What are your thoughts?

