More than cardboard

Image

More Than Cardboard

 

Twisted, mixed and turned around

I’m looking in the mirror

To see what really lies

There beyond my eyes.

I’ve become the cardboard

Cutout I place over my life,

Become the stories I create

To make sense of what I don’t understand.

Forget about accepting,

Being with what we don’t know

Exploring just for the adventure

Without needing to know.

Answers, while comforting

Remove all sense of wonder,

Maybe it’s not about the answers

It’s about the questions

How dirty I can get while

Searching in the muck

For inner light and truth.

Test out the waters

Even if their rough

To see just what it feels like

To be a part of all this stuff.

In the moments when I want to run

When the fear bubbles in my stomach

When I’d rather stuff and cover

It’s challenging to be inquisitive

And want to explore those emotions

As much as any other,

Just to see, have the experience.

I’ll have to try to keep moving forward.

 

Another technique I have found to be helpful in times when I am struggling is to investigate my troublesome emotions. Instead of getting stuck in them, to look at them as if I am an investigator trying to find out as much as possible. Get into them and really feel what it feels like to have this emotion. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. But I keep trying, and that’s what really matters!

What are some emotions you would investigate?

What are your thoughts?

