Trips End

Image

 

Trips End

 

With mixed emotions a trip comes to an end

Days of wandering

Exploring the deep beauty of nature

Of laughing, joking, talking

With family and friends

Are over.           

Every trip, every drive,

Every travel excursion

Changes me.

I come home a different person

Than before I left.

I learn more of who I am

While learning more about the world

My eyes grow wide with wonder

At the beauty of the earth,

The beauty of the people

That live across the globe.

I feel my soul expand with

Every flight I take,

Every rock and tree I touch

Opens up my heart a little bit more.

By the time I drag myself home after

A red-eye flight I feel

So open, so whole,

So filled with gratitude and love

That my life before seems nothing more than

A distant memory.

Travel changes me,

It moves me,

Opens me,

Satisfies me in a brilliantly warm way.

The world, the earth, the people on it

Change me for the better.

 

So for the past three weeks I have been traveling out west. Enjoying Colorado, Yellowstone National Park and Oregon. It has been an amazing trip that has refreshed and filled me with hope and inspiration. I am so sorry I wasn’t able to post anything during that time but I am overjoyed to return with renewed fervor and motivation. This poem speaks of how it feels for me coming home after having been away for so long.

 

What have you learned from your travels, near and far?

What are your thoughts?

