Connected Steps

Image

 

Connected Steps

 

Take a moment to look back

To see each event,

Every moment

Of my life

As a step along the way.

Pieces of a path that I couldn’t see

That have each served as

An integral part of the road.

Each event has provided exactly

What I needed even

If I didn’t know it at the time.

I realize in the looking back

That every experience even the tiniest one

Made it possible for me to

Be where I am right now.

In ways I never could have imagined,

Everything that has happened

Has allowed me to move forward in some way.

A job I thought I had

Gave me the courage to leave another,

A trip I needed to take introduced me

To worlds that filled my soul,

Friends that came and went

Taught me valuable lessons.

I can look back with such clarity

And see how every aspect of my life is

Interconnected.

How the hard times led to the simple times

And right back around.

How chance meetings, changed everything

How timing is everything and

How what happens must be “perfect”

Merely because it is happening.

And if you stop and think for a moment

About all the millions of possibilities of what

Could happen compared to what actually happens

A sense of calm and order settles

Over me, because with all those options

How could the one that happened

Be wrong?

And that can be a very reassuring thought.

Of course it’s much easier to see

All of this

From a place of love, peace and contentment.

In the midst of hardship

It is much harder to see.

But maybe that’s the point.

 

It always fascinates me when I have a moment of clarity. When I can see so clearly how everything that has happened in my life has allowed me to be where I am, including the things I really didn’t like – that made me miserable. But I look at where I am and can feel such gratitude for those tough times. It really is a great feeling. One I wish I could keep all the time, but that doesn’t always work, so I enjoy it while I have it!

What does your clarity look like?

 

What are your thoughts?

