Dirt Road

Image

 

Dirt Road

 

            I drove down a dirt road today

            Because

            All dirt roads

            Lead to great adventures,

            I thought I might see what I could find.

 

            I happened upon

             A man sitting in a bush,

            With white stripes on his face

            He stared up at the sky

            Saying

                        It is the way

            Then he disappeared.

            I wandered down a little more

            To see what lay ahead

 

            I happened upon a woman

            Hanging from a tree

            Swaying in the breeze

            Her eyes were closed in meditation

            Chanting

                        It is the way

            Then she disappeared

            I crept up a bit farther

            To see what there might be

 

            I happened upon a child

            Floating in a lake

            Being carried by the current

            Playing games with tiny fingers

            Singing

                        It is the way

            Then it disappeared

            I moved along a tad ahead

            To see where the path would lead

 

            I happened upon an end

            A wall erected in the road

            A mirror reflected back

            In absolute truth

            Whispering

                        It is the way.

 

Not sure completely where this came from… It just popped into my head. I mean it was definitely inspired by dirt roads, but beyond that pure soul speak. I do love dirt roads, as often as I can I love to drive or walk down them. I find dirt roads always have something interesting to offer.

 

What do you find on dirt roads?

2 thoughts on “Dirt Road

  1. I grew up on dirt roads. They held most of my life.
    Not sure that the paved ones now are better…I keep realizing that I choose the road and dirt or paved isn’t as important as the “why” I chose.
    Scott

    Like

What are your thoughts?

