Not Meant To Last

Image

Not Meant To Last

 

I long to write

The words

That last a thousand lifetimes,

To make a difference with

The letters on these pages.

I hope

To convey the beauty

I see, the love I feel,

To bring forth

The depth of emotions,

To coax tears from

Reading eyes.

Instead I find myself

Floundering,

Fumbling as the words

Get tossed and lost

Mixed around.

What I’m looking for

Gets lost in translation,

I’m left feeling

Inadequate, frustrated

With ineptitude.

Watching as the words

Float on by

Fleeting as a moment,

Not meant to last.

What are your thoughts?

